Weekly Writing Challenge: E-book versus Paperback

I know that my last Writing Challenge was published very recently, but I had to catch up, and, lo and behold, a new challenge came!

paperback

The WordPress Daily Post asked this question to bloggers, and offered a poll to answer. Both the original post and poll can be found here: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/04/weekly-writing-challenge-mind-the-gap-2/

ebook

Listen. I have been reading since I was 4 years old. I was reading middle-school level books in Kindergarten, and my love for reading has never stopped. But with the recent e-book trend, it is hard to choose: e-Book or Paperback; that is the question. It is a question that I contemplate everyday. Whenever I read a paperback, I think about how much more convenient an e-book is, and whenever I’m reading an e-book I think about how much more conventional a paperback is. For paperbacks, there is the nostalgia feel to it. Everyone remembers the feeling of opening up a new book, flipping through it, and anticipating with a healthy greed what is inside. For some, you flip to the last page, read that last sentence, then start. For some, the end is forbidden territory, and you just start from Chapter 1 (I’m one of the former!). However, you read, there are other perks to reading physical. The ever-so annoying question, “What are you reading?” is so much easier when you can just tilt your book a little bit so that the person you are talking to can see the cover. However, this is not enough to offset the pure inconvenience of physical books. Why should I carry around a thousand-page book, when I can take that, plus more, in a device half an inch thick?  Also, many e-readers have built-in functionality to highlight sections, take notes, or bookmark a specific page, just as you can in the physical format. Also, in supported libraries, you may even be able to rent books from your library that are almost instantly available on your device. And although e-readers certainly aren’t cheap, you can now find the basic models for both Kindle and Nook for about $80. In the long-term, you could actually save money that you would spend on book repairs, library fines, etc.

Although I am indebted to the physical medium for the joy it has given me, I must say that I now prefer to bring my Nook around with me, due to it’s size reductions, convenience, and portability.

Again, this is in response to the Daily Post. Read the original here: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/04/weekly-writing-challenge-mind-the-gap-2/ and vote in their poll.

If you like this, please comment, subscribe, complain, or critique. You can contact me at neuroticglader@gmail.com, like on Facebook www.facebook.com/NeuroticGlader, or follow me on twitter www.twitter.com/NeuroticGlader.
Thanks!
Jacob Montgomery
One thought on “Weekly Writing Challenge: E-book versus Paperback

  1. Pingback: Bookshelves and Scrapbooks | Beyond Beauty Tips

Leave a Reply

