OPINION: Why I Despise Pop Music

As you may have seen from my previous song of the week this week, I do not buy into the whole pop music thing (note: For the remainder of this article, please use air quotes around the words pop music, as I am aware the lines between genres is blurred). In my humble opinion, pop music is junk. It is half-baked crap, and does not deserve to be called music.

One of my biggest problems with pop music is its lack of substance. You would be hard pressed to find a pop song without repeating a single noun or verb over 20 times. Example: Blow by Ke$ha. We get it, you don’t have to shove it down our throats. I find that while most rock or classic rock songs repeat verses or choruses often, it is generally multiple lyrics, not one word to waste more time.

Another  knock against pop music is the lack of credit. Often times, pop stars only credit themselves and the producers. Not the songwriters and lyricists that spend probably more time on the song itself than the name on the album. Not to mention the very skilled computer technicians who engineer all of the synthesized and auto-tuned sounds that are frequently included. Which brings me to my next point, auto-tune.

Go to Youtube, and look up a song by any of the following: Ke$ha, Lady Gaga, Psy, Justin Bieber, Rihanna, etc. Now, look up a live performance by any of those artists. Doesn’t sound as good, right? Exactly. The reason for this is the layering and special effects that can be added in the studio, but can’t be added in real time such as in concert. An instance where something like this occurred is last year’s Superbowl, with the performance by Madonna/LMFAO. I thought it sounded terrible.

Finally, is the money part of it. I realize that everybody wants to make money, and I respect it. However, I find it rude when most quality artists do just fine releasing an album every few years, and make enough money off of it to set them up for the next few years. Yes, tours also help out a little. What I do not find acceptable is the way that pop artists release an album every year to every other year, but in between release a few singles. These singles could just be included in the albums that are sure to be impending, but they want to milk too much money out of one product.

So there you have it. My two-cents. If you like this, please comment, subscribe, complain, or critique. You can contact me at neuroticglader@gmail.com, like on Facebook www.facebook.com/NeuroticGlader, or follow me on twitter www.twitter.com/NeuroticGlader.

Thanks!

Jacob Montgomery

Leave a Reply

